A techno dj speaks to swing dj-ing

Tips and techniques of the trade

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

Mugsy Malone

A techno dj speaks to swing dj-ing

#1 Post by Mugsy Malone » Thu Dec 09, 2004 8:51 am

Lippy brought this post back up on WH the other day, and I'm curious to see what you old pros have to say on the subject. At least it's probably more interesting here than on WH or YH these days.

Reminder: these are not my words. These are the words of Kevin P, who used to be a very popular swing DJ in Chicago before moving on to greener and phatter pastures.

--------
As some of you already know (and for those of you who don't) in the last couple years, i've really gotten into DJing...but not swing. i've gotten into DJing electronic music... vinyl... turntables... mixer.... i think all the work i did at java jive helped me have a kind of 'head start' when i started learning about this style of DJing, but i'm still learning everyday. let me see if i can explain a key concept that i think is missing from most swing places when i go out (i know that's rare)...

at its most basic, DJing electronic music uses two distinct but overlapping skills: technical mixing, and song selection. since the electronic DJ usually is keeping the party pumping and keeping the music flowing...ever evolving one song into the next..there is usually not a gap between the songs. that's where the technical mixing comes in.

when i mix two songs together, i have to match the tempo and the beats and even the pitch and harmonics and then blend the two together by overlapping them creating a kind of impromptu "third" song while they are overlapping.