Rookie --Help Me!!

Tips and techniques of the trade

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

Remnent

Rookie --Help Me!!

#1 Post by Remnent » Sun Nov 21, 2004 11:40 pm

Hi, everyone. I'm new to DJ-ing dances. I'm not new to swing nor DJ-ing. My experince though is in comercial radio. I can use any and all sage-like advice you have to give.
i've DJ-ed a couple of times and I've heard I'm wonderful and I suck, luckily I don't take stuff like that except with a grain of salt. So any general advice would be much appreciated.

GemZombie

#2 Post by GemZombie » Mon Nov 22, 2004 12:15 am

Do you dance?

Most of the DJ's here dance. We find that if you're DJing for dancers, you are obviously more in tune if you are also a dancer.

The sad things is that most "DJ's" will play their interpretation of "Swing" when asked to do so... that interpretation usually ends up being old played out standards, or neo swing of the likes of Big Bad Voodoo Daddy. That might be great for a wedding or whatnot, but for actual dance events most of the dancers have moved on and have different tastes.

If you're new to Swing DJing... stick around here for a while, see who we talk about, check out some playlists from the regular DJs and see what you can learn.

Good luck ;)

mousethief

#3 Post by mousethief » Mon Nov 22, 2004 8:14 am

Hear hear.

Dance more and you'll DJ better.

Kalman
"The cause of reform is hurt, not helped, when an activist makes an idiotic suggestion."

Remnent

#4 Post by Remnent » Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:24 am