Building up your swing collection

Tips and techniques of the trade

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

Bob the Builder

Building up your swing collection

#1 Post by Bob the Builder » Thu Sep 11, 2003 8:12 pm

I've been building up my Swing collection now for the past 3 years and am very close to the 300 mark.
In general, my selection of buying music has been very general with a bit of every style. However in the past few months it’s been a very specific aspect of swing, and even though I have an interest in other areas my biggest interest is one particular area.
Is this a good way to go with your CD collection, or should you try to keep my over all collection more general.

Bob

Toon Town Dave

#2 Post by Toon Town Dave » Thu Sep 11, 2003 9:29 pm

I guess it depends what you're buying for. If you're buying to DJ, then it would seem logical to buy music that you would expect to use. If you DJ just swing (excluding WCS, Shag, etc) then you might direct your buying toward that but if you DJ anything and everything, then undoubtedly you'd probably buy stuff across the board ... although the current hits might come from a subscription to the top-20 of the month CDs that are available to DJs.

If you are buying for your personal listening pleasure then buy what you like and keep it varied ... too much of a good thing can get stale.

Bob the Builder

#3 Post by Bob the Builder » Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:56 pm

I'm just DJing to Lindy hoppers, and other wise I'm buying for me.

Lawrence

Re: Building up your swing collection

#4 Post by Lawrence » Fri Sep 12, 2003 1:22 pm

Bob the Builder wrote:I've been building up my Swing collection now for the past 3 years and am very close to the 300 mark.
In general, my selection of buying music has been very general with a bit of every style. However in the past few months it’s been a very specific aspect of swing, and even though I have an interest in other areas my biggest interest is one particular area.