last night's playlist

Tips and techniques of the trade

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

lipi

last night's playlist

#1 Post by lipi » Thu Mar 20, 2008 2:15 pm

because there haven't been enough playlists posted here lately.

this is from a weekly dance in the bay area with lots of beginners and few advanced dancers. it was hard to get people excited about anything above ~160 bpm. i'm still learning, i guess, because i've seen it done in the same place, with the same dancers. i definitely bombed on "mr. ghost goes to town" and "i'se a muggin'". i know jflanger and jesse have dj'ed the same place--i'd be curious to see their playlists, too.

title; artist; bpm; album

When My Baby Starts to Shake That Thing; Harry Dial's Blusicians; 141; That's My Stuff: Chicago, 1929-1930
Lavender Coffin; Lionel Hampton and his Orchestra with Sonny Parker & Joe James; 134; Hamp: The Legendary Decca Recordings
Mister Five by Five; Freddie Slack; 129; Mosaic Select 18: Freddie Slack
A Viper's Moan; Mora's Modern Rhythmists; 144; Call of the Freaks
Are You Hep to the Jive?; Cab Calloway; 161; Are You Hep to the Jive?
Look-a There; Slim Gaillard & Slam Stewart; 179; Complete Columbia Master Takes

(announcement)

(mixer) Blues My Naughty Sweetie Gives to Me; Sidney Bechet and his Hot Six; 136; Complete 1939-1951 Blue Note Master Takes
How Come?; Anita O'Day; 139; Young Anita: 3 Boogie Blues
Mr. Ghost Goes to Town; Mora's Modern Rhythmists; 169; Mr. Rhythmist Goes to Town
Smooth Sailin'; Ella Fitzgerald and her Quartet; 132; J.A.T.P. in Tokyo 1953

(announcement)

The Darktown Strutters' Ball; Alberta Hunter; 155; Amtrak Blues
I'se a Muggin'; Quintette du Hot Club de France; 170; Django Reinhardt & His American Friends: Complete Sessions
Apollo Jump; Lucky Millinder; 141; Apollo Jump
I Diddle; Dinah Washington; 138; The Complete Dinah Washington on Mercury Vol.4 1954-1956
Cole Slaw; Jesse Stone; 144; Original Swingers