Swing DJ’ing as a Design Art

Tips and techniques of the trade

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

wspeid

#1 Post by wspeid » Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:34 am

I compiled a lot of what I've heard other people say or write into something that makes sense to me as a design professional... its still just a rambling draft as I'm still a newbie at all this... but for any academic types, here's my thoughts, for what they're worth...

The more I think about being a Swing DJ, the more I’ve realized, it’s just a design problem. Like interior and landscape designers, the goal of the swing DJ is to create an inviting environment where our clients (the dancers) feel comfortable.

While interior decorators may work with fabrics and furnishings and gardeners with plants and stone, the creative medium that swing DJ’s work with is music. But, as with other design professions, there remain 5 key areas a Swing DJ needs to address to ensure a successful evening:

1. KNOW YOUR CLIENT'S NEEDS - Are the dancers a high energy bunch of seasoned aerialists looking to showcase mad fast Lindy skills or is the scene new dancers looking to master swing outs before their knees give out?

Ask the client to give you a sense of what they expect you to play. Some people will give you very helpful guidelines (notice I said guidelines, not rigid rules).

2. PERFORM A SITE INVENTORY AND ANALYSIS - what you play will be affected by the physical conditions of the room. Here's a few things that may not be immediately obvious.

Surface - Is the floor a fast cushioned wooden surface or a rough, jarring patch of concrete? Your dancers’ knees (especially the follows) will thank you if you recognize the difference.

Temperature – Fast moving bodies on a crowded dance floor generate a lot of heat. If you notice most of the dancers are outside fanning themselves and sucking down water consider slowing the tempo’s down… or plan on staying slower early on to keep the room cooler to begin with.