Your insights are appreciated...

Tips and techniques of the trade

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

imarx

Your insights are appreciated...

#1 Post by imarx » Thu Nov 17, 2005 4:46 pm

Hello everyone,

This post is only tangentially related to "DJ Skillz," but it seemed a closer fit than any of the other categories, so here goes...

I'm an undergrad at the University of Chicago and a lindy hopper for over three years, and for my World Music class I am writing my final paper on the relationships dancers have with live performers and why live musical performance seems to have a premium of sorts in the swing community (please don't take issue with this comment in your response, as I realize many of you might feel differently ). Anyway, for my research I am interviewing musicians who play gigs for swing dancers as well as swing dancers themselves for their opinions on the matter. In order to get the "whole picture," I would like to solicit your comments on this phenomenon. Specifically:

1) What do you feel that live musicians can provide dancers that you, as DJs, cannot?
2) What do you fell that you, as DJs, can provide dancers that live musicians cannot?

Again, before you post realize that I am aware that a bad band is no substitute for an excellent DJ, so in your responses please assume a comparable level of quality between band and DJ - I am simply looking for the unique qualities that bands and DJs each have to offer.

One other note: by posting on this thread, I am assuming that you are giving me permission to quote you in my paper. If there are comments you do not wish me to use, or if you prefer to be quoted anonymously, please say so in your post.

I hope this post hasn't been too off-putting. Please wax as poetic as you like on the virtues of DJing. Thank you in advance!

Isaac

Bob the Builder

#2 Post by Bob the Builder » Thu Nov 17, 2005 6:50 pm

How live and DJed events work with me:

Live Gigs give me