Preparing for a Gig/ Your First Gig?

Tips and techniques of the trade

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

Mystere88

Preparing for a Gig/ Your First Gig?

#1 Post by Mystere88 » Tue Jun 07, 2005 4:20 pm

Hey Everyone,

so I've decided to become a Swing DJ. Now there will be three to choose from in this town, and I'm the only one under 30, or 40, or 48. So, once I decided to sponsor my own dance, then I thought I would take on DJing it as well. I've been doing my homework for the past 2 months, and have 2 more weeks. So, I'm interested to ask:

How do you prepare for any DJing gig? >>I've developed a few good databases on my Filemaker System that are getting me toward organized. I found reading the thread about "themes" was very helpful and I've been able to assemble some different themes I hope to touch on throughout the night. I'm having a lot of fun learning about all this great music, and have compiled about 7 hours of good music in my collection to choose from for a 3.5 hour dance.

I noticed that people were publishing their set lists on another thread. Are you just so good you can wing it every time or do you assemble a set list prior to most of your gigs as an "outline" per se?

What was your first DJing gig? How did you prepare? How did it go?

Thanks!

Toon Town Dave

#2 Post by Toon Town Dave » Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:29 pm

It's nice to see eager newbies :)

First, I would caution you that trying to be THE DJ and THE organizer probably won't work. Both demand a significant amount of attention unless your event is really small (a dozen or so friends). The first and foremost thing in your mind should be what will keep your customers happy and encourage them to come back and bring a friend.