Equipment rec's for a small outdoor party

It's all about the equipment

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

Matt Smiley

Equipment rec's for a small outdoor party

#1 Post by Matt Smiley » Tue Sep 28, 2004 11:53 am

So I’m getting married next year and we’re going to try to do the ceremony and reception on a small tropical island where the locals apparently do not rent out their sound equipment. As I am an amateur DJ and several of the invited guests are accomplished DJs I’m hoping we can find a way to avoid having to hire a DJ or a band. So I’m thinking about diverting the money that would be budgeted for the DJ or band and using it instead to pick up some equipment of my own.

I’m thinking: iPod, receiver, speakers.

I don’t know much about the last two, so I’m hoping you guys can point me towards something that:
1.) can power an outdoor party of about 50 guests.
2.) will survive 3rd-world-country baggage-handling.
3.) might double as a decent home audio system once the wedding is over.

Any suggestions?

Matt Smiley

#2 Post by Matt Smiley » Thu Sep 30, 2004 5:59 am

Help a brother out here.

How about those Fender units that fold up to be like a suitcase?

Would something like that be enough for about 50 people?

Is the sound decent?

Can it survive being shipped around a bit?

Mr Awesomer

#3 Post by Mr Awesomer » Thu Sep 30, 2004 10:10 am

Strom's got one of those things I think. We were using it during the afterhours at Showdown and it was plenty loud. Not sure if you'd want it in your living room though.
Reuben Brown
Southern California

LindyChef

Re: Equipment rec's for a small outdoor party

#4 Post by LindyChef » Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:56 am

Matt Smiley wrote: 1.) can power an outdoor party of about 50 guests.
2.) will survive 3rd-world-country baggage-handling.
3.) might double as a decent home audio system once the wedding is over.