cd player that support MP3 and WMF

It's all about the equipment

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

KattenPejst

cd player that support MP3 and WMF

#1 Post by KattenPejst » Fri Jan 09, 2004 4:27 pm

Hi!

Do any of you know if there are any professional cd-players
(i.e. for dj purposes) that support cds burned with mp3 and/or WMF?
Just wondering.

Toon Town Dave

#2 Post by Toon Town Dave » Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:50 pm

Numark makes a couple of MP3/CD players, the MPCD3 (single) and MPCD33 (double).

Gemini makes the MP-3000X.

Pioneer makes the DMP555.

Denon makes the DN-D4000.

I have no experience with any of these so I can't vouch for compatibility or quality. The Gemini is probably the cheapest (cost wise).

I don't know of any professional gear that plays wma files. You may want to check out the thread on laptop DJing, the PCDJ software also has a controller available that will give you the same control panel that you'd find on a professional CD player.

Lawrence

#3 Post by Lawrence » Tue Jan 13, 2004 11:11 pm

Absolutely. Almost every line of professional CD player makes MP3 compatible players. (The question is so broad that it's difficult to answer other than saying "yes"). However, the last I checked, they do cost significantly more than ordinary CD players.
Lawrence Page
Austin Lindy Hop
http://www.AustinLindy.com

Jake

#4 Post by Jake » Wed Jan 14, 2004 9:32 am

I've thought about this in the past, because you can fit so many more mp3s on a CD than actual music tracks. But I would never want to DJ with such a setup, because having too many of your tracks on one CD is a bad idea: if two of the tracks you want to play in sequence are on one CD, you have no ability to transition between them smoothly or with any of the control that a mixer gives.

For that reason, I say if you're going to use mp3's use a laptop with a software mixer or two-channel output and a hardware mixer...

Nate Dogg

#5 Post by Nate Dogg » Wed Jan 14, 2004 1:26 pm