The Best Thing I Ever Did As A DJ...

It's all about the equipment

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

Lippy

The Best Thing I Ever Did As A DJ...

#1 Post by Lippy » Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:29 am

...was to get my own equipment. Within reason of course. When I read through many of the posts hear on SDJS there is a lot of talk about whether one should DJ from a laptop or CDs or Vinyl, and how to solve one of many recurring problems. My theory is that YOU as a DJ should be responsible for everything you could possibly need out to the PA / Sound Board / AMP / etc...

Now what exactly that entails will vary from DJ to DJ / Setup to Setup. I've been DJing for many years (Swing for 10 / Club for 4) and through many mistakes and blunders have put together different setups depending on the medium I was DJing. I've purchase mixers, CD Players, Turntables, and accessories to boot to make sure that I'm always ready to go.

Here are some of the essentials (IMO):

Mixer: By having your own mixer you can quickly control your sound on the fly. A three band EQ is key to get the best sound out of your music. Also as mentioned in many threads, Mixers tend to have some sort of pre amp to boost your volume levels.

Line Out Accessories: Have adapters to go into ANY connection that may be asked of you. Typically it will be either RCA or Mono 1/4 Stereo Plugs. You probably don't need XLRs because most boards that have those will have 1/4 Stereo Plugs as well.

RCA (output) cords: I carry about 60 ft of RCA cable to connect into systems. How many times have you DJ'd a party where they say "OH. The dancers and speakers are here, but the sound system is in this closet!!" Lots of cord can allow you to set up shop where you think it's best.

Extension cords, power strip, ground lift: I carry a 25' extension cord with a power strip to plug in my equipment. I also have a few of these in my box in case of hum.