Portable hard drives (compatibility PC/Mac)

It's all about the equipment

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

Jonas

Portable hard drives (compatibility PC/Mac)

#1 Post by Jonas » Thu Feb 17, 2005 4:19 am

How is compatibility between PC and Mac when it comes to using a portable hard drive? If you have one formatted on your PC, then move some mp3:s onto it, and would want to use it with your iBook, would that be possible?

If not, are there at least portables that could be formatted either as PC or Mac externals?

If any of the above, do you you have any suggestions for a good portable hard drive, say in the range between 80 and 250 GB, with USB 2 and possibly FireWire connections, and the choice of powering it either through the USB 2/FireWire connection or using an external power cord?

(Please be nice, I'm not good at this, as you tech guys might have noticed)

Thank you in advance,
Jonas

JesseMiner

Re: Portable hard drives (compatibility PC/Mac)

#2 Post by JesseMiner » Thu Feb 17, 2005 9:47 am

Jonas wrote:How is compatibility between PC and Mac when it comes to using a portable hard drive? If you have one formatted on your PC, then move some mp3:s onto it, and would want to use it with your iBook, would that be possible?
I've only even dealt with PCs, so I'll leave this to the question for someone else to answer.
Jonas wrote:If not, are there at least portables that could be formatted either as PC or Mac externals?

If any of the above, do you you have any suggestions for a good portable hard drive, say in the range between 80 and 250 GB, with USB 2 and possibly FireWire connections, and the choice of powering it either through the USB 2/FireWire connection or using an external power cord?
Your answer lies here in the Laptop DJing thread. USB2/Firewire-powered external drives were literally just discussed yesterday.

Jesse

Jonas

#3 Post by Jonas » Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:09 am