Which Complete Basie on Decca is the best?

Everything about the swinging music we love to DJ

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

Jonas

Which Complete Basie on Decca is the best?

#1 Post by Jonas » Wed Nov 10, 2004 6:31 am

Hi folks!

This is my first post. I've been a lurker for some time, but have done some good cd investments with the help of your advice, and dj from time to time at our local venue. Since I'm a newbie, I thought I'd start out with a question to the seasoned veterans. Forgive me if the topic has been debated before, but I haven't been able to spot it anywhere here.

I'm looking at finally buying the complete Basie recordings on Decca, this treasure of swing from which I've heard so many great songs played, but can't decide which set to get. As far as I can see from www.allmusic.com, there are two sets on which the track listings are identical (one of them though with the alternates at the end of each disc).

The sets are:
1. The Complete Decca Recordings (GRP, released 1992, cat. no. 611, producer Orrin Keepnews)
2. Complete American Decca Recordings (Definitive, released 2001, cat. no. 11173, producer unknown)

My question is the following:

Which one of these, or any other, should I buy, price aside, if I want the best sound quality?

Thanks in advance
Jonas, Uppsala, Sweden

Yakov

#2 Post by Yakov » Mon Nov 15, 2004 9:30 am

haven't heard both... i doubt anyone here has, which would explain the paucity of replies... but i have heard the Basie RCA Victor set from the same European label, and it was excellent... the American version of the Decca recordings is fab... you probably can't go wrong, just get the cheaper one

Campus Five

#3 Post by Campus Five » Mon Nov 15, 2004 11:18 am

Check out the 4-disc proper box, no alternates but everything you really need.
"I don''t dig that two beat jive the New Orleans cats play.
My boys and I have four heavy beats to the bar and no cheating!
--Count Basie
www.campusfive.com