ECS/Lindy/WCS - Bridging the Gap

Everything about the swinging music we love to DJ

Moderators: Mr Awesomer, JesseMiner, CafeSavoy

swinginstyle

ECS/Lindy/WCS - Bridging the Gap

#1 Post by swinginstyle » Sat Dec 13, 2003 3:25 pm

First, I'd like to say I'm new to this board and what I'm asking may be redundant, so please be patient and just point me in the right direction. I'm just getting into the whole djing bit and trying to expand my music. One of my goals, being that I'm from Kansas City (ECS dancers in the closet as kitkat admitted), is to bridge the gap between ECS and lindy through music. Being that my background is strong ECS I thoroughly enjoyed the hard hitting songs, the speed, and the aerials. Thanks to several events and a freak injury, I have come to realize what lindy has to offer through the dance and it's variety of music. My goal is to build the lindy hop base in Kansas City, but there are some roadblocks.

The main one is the music. KC likes neo-swing, but it's rarely played outside KC. I would like to know what are some fast songs that swing. I'd also like to realize what bands djs consider neo-swing and perhaps some reasoning. For example (since I've read a few posts), why do some djs abhor Indigo Swing and Jive Aces? How have some djs attempted to bridge the gap in their own scenes?

WCS: I'm an avid WCS dancer and was curious what songs cross over from lindy into wcs and vice versa. What songs are capable of satisfying both crowds (to a certain degree) besides Wade in the Water?

Any other advice/opinions people have would be great.
Don't take swing underground!!

kitkat

#2 Post by kitkat » Sat Dec 13, 2003 3:57 pm

Drew

#3 Post by Drew » Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:36 am

my thoughts on neo and its overestimated necessity can be found at the bottom of this page.